Ula's Unique Blog

Horseback Riding

on March 15, 2017

I have been riding ever since I was six years old when my mom signed me up for a horse summer camp. At that horse camp I learned the basics of how to ride, brush, and tack up a horse, but most importantly, how to love a horse. During that week I was riding a little appaloosa pony named spotty. My parents said he was the only thing I talked about for that entire summer. I begged for a horse, but eventually realized we would not be getting a horse on our patio.

Of course after that week of horse camp I made my mom sign me up for riding lessons. I started at a barn in Point Reyes, where I primarily rode Arabians. I was at that barn for about a year and was riding western and doing trail rides. Over the summer my friend invited me to do a camp at her barn (now my barn) , which is where I first learned English. The next lesson I had I asked my trainer if I could ride English and she said ok. I have not ridden western since.

When my parents realized this was more than just a hobby we moved to a barn more convenient for us so I could start riding multiple days a week. Over that year I rode a lots of different kinds of horses and ponies. After that, I moved to my current barn in Petaluma. I rode more horses and started show jumping. My first show was on this little pony named Dasher. I showed him in flat classes and cross rails.

When I was in fourth grade my parent surprised me and told me they had bought a horse for me, named Mikey. I was so excited and crying (happy tears) because I had been begging for a horse for such a long time. Mikey is a 14.2  bay Canadian Sport Horse gelding. The first year on Mikey was very challenging. I fell off 20 times that year! I have competed in many shows with him and have won many classes and have gotten champion twice! I am also on my team’s IEA team where we compete at different barns. Instead of bringing your own horse to show you ride the horses at each team’s barn so you learn how to ride many different types of horses and ponies. Last year I qualified for IEA regionals. I got a second at regionals, so I then went to Zones, but didn’t place there. This year I didn’t qualify, but I am excited for all the shows I will do this summer!

Here are some pictures of me riding!


One Response to “Horseback Riding”

  1. 21clarhl says:

    Hey, it’s HayLee again, just commenting to say that I love your horse, he is so cute. Quick question is he a quarter horse??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar